Which saints to turn ?

Devil - Orvietto

The Maciel case requires us to ask the question of Evil. Our time prevents rubbing it. What do we know of the work of the devil and what can we do to protect ourselves ? After attempting to overshadow the good of life, is it any wonder that evil shows itself in the open ? The works of the devil are endless, but the & rsquo; Holy Spirit can all, including transforming.

You had to have the eloquence of the favorite writer of the Pope1 to affirm : "There is only sadness, that not to be holy ". This heady question of holiness always comes as a season that does not pass. There are many things we can get rid, but never the question of holiness in part. It is consubstantial with us. As soon as we see or seeing something just or unjust, something under the good or evil, we walk on the path of holiness. Whether to it or against it. It takes a long time to realize how the issue of holiness is we consubstantial. We are holy, we are a temple, we left the church that is holy, we are in the image of God who is holy, and yet we ébrouons, we are falling, we struggle, we strive… So little results for so many promises. This is the holy condition application amount of effort and gives few visible results.
Continue reading “Which saints to turn ?”

Heart of Darkness, life

The-Tree-of-Life

After seeing "Tree of Life", I long forbidden me to write about this film. Two forces clashed in me. Captivated by poetry, the blissful state in which I was immersed, I was afraid to disturb the surface of this work. I got so wrapped up in the mystery of this film that I did not understand the negative reactions and was unable to think critically1. “Tree of Life” is based on a book of the Bible, “the Book of Job”. And this book dark about life and the relationship of man to God. What is present in many books of the Bible. But the Book of Job begins with a dialogue between God and Satan play man. The impression we get this inaugural dialogue is strange. Of course, the beginning of dialogue would not be quite the same time that the central story. Whatever actually, the impression left is represented in the book. How can God be playing his beloved creature ? A hasty conclusion reports the improbable situation. In truth, Once the bark removed, the Book of Job delivers the heart of the relationship between God and man. And “Tree of Life”, the film by Terrence Malick, has the same ambition.

Continue reading “Heart of Darkness, life”

original offense

Despite the doubts of Shusaku Endo as to the true Christianity Japanese mentioned in the admirable "Silence", it also appears to me that the Japanese has a real fundamental common with the Christian in the ease he has to put himself in the place of another. Is this not one of the founding bases of Christianity, one of these archetypes Speech on the Mount, than always think that our effort was not important enough, pronounced enough, for the agreement emerges ? I see of course the weak reasoning : Japanese tirelessly trying to put in place of the other culturally ; he also wants to better understanding ; he does not know the guilt, but shame… The Christian must put in place the other because he thinks that the fault comes from him, This does not mean he committed the foul, but rather the lack of attention to the other led him to not enough work to prevent the fault.

Continue reading “original offense”

forgive, there will always be something…

In this small reflection on forgiveness, I just wanted to return to the inadequacy of saying sorry. Forgiveness is sometimes extremely difficult. I must still keep some resentment in my heart. I have ceased to confess and ask for a little grace to soften the hardness of my heart, but no, nothing really, and instead I learned to live with this hardness I still managed to circumscribe, I have sincerely forgiven and intimately. Why ? Why not happened I not to reduce to dust the hardness of heart ? It seems as stronger than me and it worries me, I can not hide.

Continue reading “forgive, there will always be something…”

Sticky moralism of the West

It is always fun and instructive to realize the contradictions of his opponents. Comment, this modern society so proud of her freedom, its way of thinking about intimate things, this company sensuality (when it took care to confuse sensuality and pornography), emerged a prudish society, restrictive, voyeuristic and especially moralist (must reread the trial of Jean Marie Domenach : A morality without moralism). Where this Plenipotentiary modern society tries to confuse the moral of Catholicism as it portraitise archaic, it develops very quickly antibody as a moralism that feels good in judging the neighbor. It is the moral philistine. It is a trait of French character. But other European countries share with her.

Continue reading “Sticky moralism of the West”

A quels saints se vouer ?

Diable - Orvietto

L’affaire Marcial Maciel nous impose de poser la question du Mal. Notre époque évite de s’y frotter. Que savons-nous de l’œuvre du diable et que pouvons-nous faire pour nous en protéger ? Après avoir tenté d’occulter le bien de la vie, faut-il s’étonner que le mal se montre au grand jour ? Les œuvres du démon sont innombrables, mais l’Esprit-Saint peut tout, notamment les transformer.

Il fallait avoir la faconde de l’écrivain préféré du Pape1 pour affirmer : « Il n’y a qu’une seule tristesse, celle de ne pas être saint ». Cette question entêtante de la sainteté revient toujours comme une saison qui ne passe pas. Il existe beaucoup de choses dont nous pouvons nous débarrasser, mais jamais la question de la sainteté n’en fait partie. Elle nous est consubstantielle. Dès que nous voyons ou assistons à quelque chose de juste ou d’injuste, quelque chose relevant du bien ou du mal, nous cheminons sur la voie de la sainteté. Que ce soit vers elle ou contre elle. Il faut beaucoup de temps pour se rendre compte à quel point la question de la sainteté nous est consubstantielle. Nous sommes saints, nous sommes un temple, nous sommes partis de l’Église qui est sainte, nous sommes à l’image de Dieu qui est Saint, et pourtant nous nous ébrouons, nous tombons, nous peinons, nous nous évertuons… Si peu de résultats pour tant de promesses. C’est que la condition de saint demande quantité d’efforts et donne peu de résultats visibles.
Lire la suite de « A quels saints se vouer ? »

Au coeur des ténèbres, la vie

The-Tree-of-Life

Après avoir vu « Tree of Life », je me suis longtemps interdit d’écrire sur ce film. Deux forces s’affrontaient en moi. Subjugué par la poésie, par l’état de béatitude dans lequel j’étais plongé, j’avais peur de troubler la surface de cette oeuvre. Je me suis tellement emmitouflé dans le mystère de ce film que je ne comprenais pas les réactions négatives et étais incapable d’avoir un esprit critique1. « Tree of Life » s’appuie sur un livre de la Bible, « le Livre de Job ». Et ce livre ténébreux parle de la vie et de la relation de l’homme à Dieu. Ce qui est présent dans beaucoup de livres de la Bible. Mais le Livre de Job commence par un dialogue entre Dieu et Satan qui se jouent de l’homme. L’impression que nous laisse ce dialogue inaugural est étrange. Bien sûr, le dialogue de début ne serait pas tout à fait de la même époque que le récit central. Peu importe en fait, l’impression laissée se représente au cours du livre. Comment Dieu peut-il se jouer de sa créature bien-aimée ? Une conclusion hâtive rend compte de l’invraisemblable de la situation. En vérité, une fois l’écorce ôtée, le Livre de Job délivre le coeur de la relation entre Dieu et l’homme. Et « Tree of Life », le film de Terrence Malick, a cette même ambition.

Lire la suite de « Au coeur des ténèbres, la vie »

Faute d’origine

Malgré les doutes de Shûsaku Endo quant à la vraie christianité des Japonais évoquée dans l’admirable « Silence », il m’apparaît aussi que le Japonais a un vrai point commun fondamental avec le chrétien dans la facilité qu’il a à se mettre à la place de l’autre. N’est-ce pas là l’un des socles fondateurs du christianisme, l’un de ces archétypes du Discours sur la Montage, que de toujours penser que notre effort n’a pas été assez important, assez prononcé, pour que l’entente émerge ? Je vois bien sûr la faiblesse du raisonnement : le Japonais essaie inlassablement de se mettre à la place de l’autre culturellement ; il désire aussi mieux se faire comprendre ; il ne connaît pas la culpabilité, mais la honte… Le chrétien doit se mettre à la place de l’autre parce qu’il pense que la faute vient de lui, ce qui ne veut pas dire qu’il a commis la faute, mais plutôt que le manque d’attention à l’autre l’a poussé à ne pas assez travailler à prévenir la faute.

Lire la suite de « Faute d’origine »

Pardonnez, il en restera toujours quelque chose…

Dans cette petite réflexion sur le pardon, je voulais juste revenir sur l’insuffisance de dire pardon. Pardonner est quelquefois d’une difficulté extrême. J’avoue garder encore quelques rancoeurs au fond de mon coeur. Je n’ai de cesse de les confesser et de demander un peu de grâce pour attendrir la dureté de mon coeur, mais non, rien n’y fait vraiment, et j’ai plutôt appris à vivre avec cette dureté que j’ai malgré tout réussi à circonscrire, que je n’ai pardonné sincèrement et intimement. Pourquoi ? Pourquoi n’arrivé-je pas à réduire en poussière cette dureté de coeur ? Elle semble comme plus forte que moi et cela m’inquiète, je ne saurais le cacher.

Lire la suite de « Pardonnez, il en restera toujours quelque chose… »

Le moralisme gluant de l’Occident

Il est toujours amusant et instructif de se rendre compte des contradictions de ses adversaires. Comment, de cette société moderne si fière de sa liberté, de sa façon de concevoir les choses intimes, cette société de la sensualité (quand on a bien pris soin de confondre sensualité et pornographie), émerge une société pudibonde, restrictive, voyeuriste et surtout moraliste (il faut relire ici l’essai de Jean Marie Domenach : Une Morale sans moralisme). Là où cette société moderne plénipotentiaire tente de confondre la morale du catholicisme qu’elle portraitise comme archaïque, elle developpe très rapidement des anti-corps sous la forme d’un moralisme qui ne se sent bien qu’en jugeant le voisin. C’est la morale petit-bourgeois. C’est un trait de caractère français. Mais que d’autres pays d’Europe partagent avec elle.

Lire la suite de « Le moralisme gluant de l’Occident »